Women dominate shortlist for Australia’s Miles Franklin Literary Award

Women writers dominate the short list for the Miles Franklin, one of Australia’s most prestigious awards which was announced tonight.  Only one man, Craig Sherborne, who wrote Tree Palace, made it through. The short list for the $60,000 prize which celebrates “Australian life in all its glories” is:

  • Golden Boys by Sonya Hartnett, Penguin.
  • The Eye of the Sheep by Sofie Laguna, Allen & Unwin (reviewed here).
  • The Golden Age by Joan London, Random House.
  • After Darkness by Christine Piper, Allen & Unwin.
  • Tree Palace by Craig Sherborne Text Publishing.

The judges’ spokesman, Richard Neville,  said the shortlisted novels had “a rich cast of unforgettable characters, and themes ranging from childhood gangs and domestic violence to itinerant thieves, wartime internment and the post-war polio epidemic”. The winner will be announced on June 23.

The Long List had included:

  • In Certain Circles by Elizabeth Harrower, Text Publishing
  • The Lost Child by Suzanne McCourt, Text Publishing
  • Here Comes the Dogs by Omar Musa, Penguin
  • When the Night Comes by Favel Parrett, Hachette Australia
  • Nest by Inga Simpson, Hachette Australia (reviewed here)

Comments are closed.


Get the latest posts delivered to your mailbox: