Miles Franklin short list announced

Carrie Tiffany, who recently won the inaugural Stella Prize for Australian women’s literature with Mateship with Birds is among the five women who have made it to the short list of the Miles Franklin award.

The shortlist, announced today in Sydney also includes Michelle de Kretser for Questions of Travel, Romy Ash for Floundering, Annah Faulkner for The Beloved and Drusilla Modjeska for The Mountain.

Ironically after (or could it be because of?) the long, loud debate over whether the Miles Franklin was biased against women writers, not one man made it onto the short list despite Brian Castro and two- times winner Tom Keneally being long listed. The winner will be announced in June.

Comments are closed.


Get the latest posts delivered to your mailbox: