Shortlists announced for 2014 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards

Railwayman's wifeSome of Australia’s leading writers have been recognised in the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards announced today. The six contenders in the Fiction category are: The Secret Lives of Men by Georgia Blain, The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanangan, The Railwayman’s Wife by Ashley Hay, Questions of Travel by Michelle de Kretser, Game by Trevor Shearston and The Swan Book by Alexis Wright.

The shortlist for new writing is The Night Guest by Fiona McFarlane, Holiday in Cambodia, by Laura Jean McKay, The First Week, Margaret Merrilees, and Letters to the End of Love by Yvette Walker.

The shortlist for non-fiction is Boy, Lost: A Family Memoir by Kirstina Olsson, Girt: WarneThe Unauthorised History of Australia by David Hunt, On Warne by Gideon Haigh, Rendevous with Destiny by Michael Fullilove, Stillways: A Memoir by Steve Bisley and Who Killed Dr Bogle and Mrs Chandler by Peter Butt.

Details of the books shortlisted in other categories including poetry and young people’s literature are available.  Voting is open for the People’s Choice Award which closes at midnight on Friday 16 May, 2014. The winner of all categories will be announced on the evening of Monday, 19 May.

Comments are closed.


Get the latest posts delivered to your mailbox: