Shortlist for Stella Prize 2016 announced

The Stella Prize Chief Judge, author and academic Brenda Walker, has summed up theChar shortlist for the 2016 shortlist as “finely composed and compassionate literary investigations of the fate of individuals interacting with the natural world and with social authority; with protection and self-protection in complicated environments; with the hard-won joy of living”. They are:

The winner of the Stella Prize, one of Australia’s most prestigious literary awards, will be announced on Tuesday April 17th. It is open to fiction and non-fiction books written by a woman. All the shortlisted authors receive a prize of $2000 with the eventual winner taking home $50,000.

The books included on the long list were:

The inaugural Stella Prize in 2013 was won by Carrie Tiffany for Mateship With Birds. Other former winners include Clare Wright for The Forgotten Rebels of Eureka (2014)and Emily Bitto for The Strays (2015).

Comments are closed.


Get the latest posts delivered to your mailbox: