Debut authors dominate longlist for 2016 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction

Debut authors make up more than half of the 20  authors on the long list for the 2016 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction, alongside established authors such as  Kate Atkinson, Anne Enright and Pulitzer Prize winners Geraldine Brooks  and Elizabeth Strout. Chair of Judges Margaret Mountford said of this year’s longlist: “We had a hugely enjoyable and stimulating meeting, as there were a great many strong novels in contention. We are delighted with the quality, the imaginative scope and the ambition of our chosen books, a longlist which reflects the judges’ interests and tastes. We hope readers will enjoy the variety of outstanding work on offer.” The full long list is:

The 2016 shortlist of  six will be announced on Monday 11th April and the winner on  Wednesday 8th June. Previous winners of the prize are:

  • 2015: How to be Both by Ali Smith
  • 2014: A Girl is a Half-Formed Thing by Eimcar McBride
  • 2013: May We Be Forgiven by A M Homes
  • 2012: The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller
  • 2011: The Tiger’s Wife by Tea Obrecht
  • 2010: The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver
  • 2009: Home by Marilynne Robinson
  • 2008: The Road Home by Rose Tremain
  • 2007: Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimanada Ngoza Adichie
  • 2006: On Beauty by Zadie Smith
  • 2005: We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver
  • 2004: Small Island by Andrea Levy
  • 2003: Property by Valerie Martin
  • 2002: Bel Canto by Anne Patchett
  • 2001: The Idea of Perfection by Kate Grenville
  • 2000: When I Lived in Modern Times by Linda Grant
  • 1999: A Crime in the Neighbourhood by Suzanne Berne
  • 1998: Larry’s Party by Carol Shields
  • 1997: Fugitive Pieces by Anne Michaels
  • 1996: A Spell of Winter by Helen Dunmore.

Comments are closed.


Get the latest posts delivered to your mailbox: